Meet the Board

The Innovation Agency Board began meeting formally during 2012. The Board has to make sure that the AHSN achieves its goals and objectives and complies with all relevant rules and regulations.

The AHSN covers a wide geographical area, and needs to take account of the views and contributions of colleagues from the NHS, industry, academia, and education sectors, as well from patients and communities. The membership of the Board reflects its areas of interest and reflects the areas it covers.

The Board meets bi- monthly, and papers are published online here.

Any queries relating to the Innovation Agency's Board should be directed to:

Anthony Roberts

Corporate Business Manager

The Innovation Agency Executive Team

Gideon Ben-Tovim - Chair
Bruce Ash - Vice Chair/ABHI Representative

Dr Bina Rawal - Non Executive Director

Dr Liz Mear - Chief Executive
Dr Phil Jennings - Interim Medical Director
Lorna Green - Commercial Director
Lisa Butland - Director of Innovation and Research

Caroline Kenyon - Director of Communications and Engagement

Anthony Roberts - Corporate Business Manager (Secretariat)




Host Authority Representative

Professor Heather Tierney-Moore - Chief Executive, Lancashire Care NHSFT

CCG representatives x4 

Dr Alex Gaw - Chair, Lancashire North CCG

Dr Andy Davies - Chair, Warrington Clinical Commissioning Group

Katherine Sheerin - Chief Officer, Liverpool CCG

Dr Umesh Chauhan - Research Lead, East Lancashire CCG

NHS England Local Representatives

Area Team, NHS England, Lancashire 

Nicola Allen, NHS England, Cheshire and Merseyside

NHS England, Cumbria

NHS Provider Representatives (2 Lancashire and South Cumbria, 2 Cheshire and Merseyside)

Karen Partington - Chief Executive, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS FT

Jackie Daniel - Chief Executive, University Hospitals Morecambe Bay NHS FT

University Representatives (1 Lancashire and South Cumbria, 1 Cheshire and Merseyside)

Professor Neil Johnson,  Dean Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Lancaster

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed, University of Liverpool

Professor Bob Burgoyne, University of Liverpool

Professor Sally Spencer, Edge Hill University

Alan Welby, Director of Innovation, Liverpool John Moores University

NWC Strategic Clinical Network

Jan Vaughan, Associate Director


Kathy Thomson - Chief Executive, Liverpool Women's Hospital

North West Coast Clinical Research Network Representatives




NIHR CLAHRC North West Coast Representatives

Professor Martin Lombard, Clinical Director

Aidan Kehoe, Chief Executive, Royal Liverpool NHS FT (host organisation for CRN)


Professor Mark Gabbay - Director, NIHR CLAHRC North West Coast

Dr Jane Cloke - Assistant Director & Programme Manager, NIHR CLAHRC NWC

North West Focused Industry Representatives

Bruce Ash - ABHI Representative and the Innovation Agency Vice Chair

Harriet Lewis - Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry

Patient and Community Involvement Representatives

Mike Hodgkinson, Chair, Healthwatch Halton

Liverpool Health Partners Representative


Lancashire Hub/Health Partners Reprsentative

Rosalind Way, Director of Operations


Laura Kornas, Manager, Clinical Research, Lancaster University

Representatives of the LEP for each geographical area

Andy Rose - Liverpool City Region LEP

Francis Lee -  Head of EU Programmes, Cheshire and Warrington LEP

Andy Walker - Head of Business Growth and Innovation, Lancashire LEP

TBC - Cumbria LEP

Public Health England

Melanie Sirotkin - Public Health England, Knowledge and Intelligence Team (North West)

Health Education England

Janet Cavalot, Director Health Education England North